h800 wk 8 A1: Strategies for design

I am sometimes asked to run staff development sessions at colleges about elearning. The topics for these sessions are jointly decided between my and my main contact at the college. At this stage i use a flickr page of images as a sort of menu of things I could run a session on www.kevspics.notlong.com

When planning the course I try to ensure everyone has plenty of time to discuss ideas. I often write/draw a quick mind map of ideas for the course. I avoid powerpoint slideshows containing text where possible and look for alternative methods of delivering information, such as short pecha kucha presentations or useing flickr images. I use creative commons search to find content for the session and try fo find as many case study examples where possible.

All training I deliver is carred out at a location i am visiting such as a college or hotel as part of a larger event. This causes particular technological issues as many colleges block certain websites, there can be issues with access to the internet, what software and plug ins are installed on the machines.

Leave a Reply

